Tsitsipas was once again enraged by an early Grand Slam departure, and this US Open has been notable for fierce on-court confrontations.
In a dramatic second-round battle against Altmaier, the 26th seed lost his temper over the opponent’s use of a "low serve." The German, ranked 56th globally, staged an upset comeback with a 7-6(5) 1-6 4-6 6-3 7-5 win on Thursday evening.
“Don’t be surprised if I hit you next time, alright?” Tsitsipas was caught on microphone saying this to Altmaier at the net, “I’m just saying, if you do the low serve.” Altmaier patted his shoulder and replied, “Too late.” As Tsitsipas tried to continue with “If you do the low serve…” the crowd began booing from the stands.
At that moment, Altmaier raised his hand, turned to shake the umpire’s hand, and then shouted in celebration. He will face the 8th seed Deminal in the next round, competing for a spot in the round of 16.
Although this result looks like an upset on paper, Tsitsipas’s early exit was not unexpected. The Greek player has failed to get past the second round in six consecutive Grand Slams. Plagued by long-term back injuries, the former world No. 3 has now dropped to No. 28. Off the court, his coaching team has changed multiple times—after a brief collaboration with Ivanisevic, he rehired his father Apostolos Tsitsipas as head coach.
“I’ve played many tough matches recently. It’s really painful to find myself in this situation,” Tsitsipas said after withdrawing from Wimbledon during his first-round match against Valentin Royer. “I’ve tried everything. I’ve worked hard physically and done a lot of rehab, but now I have no answers.”
For Altmaier, this victory marked his first time reaching the third round at the US Open and his second time advancing past the third round in a Grand Slam outside the French Open, following appearances in 2020 and 2025.
In Thursday’s match, Altmaier took the first set, then Tsitsipas won two sets in a row to take the lead. In the fourth set, Altmaier employed a legal but controversial low serve twice to disrupt his opponent’s rhythm.
This tactic clearly angered Tsitsipas. Shortly after, he struck Altmaier with a forehand at the net. Although he immediately raised his hand to apologize, their post-match exchanges suggested the hit was deliberate.
“I know sometimes when emotions run high, you might say things you usually wouldn’t,” Altmaier said in a post-match interview. “Even if I lose, I wouldn’t argue because it’s just a moment of impulse during the match. You need to stay calm.”
This US Open has featured not only exciting matches but also many controversies. This tense scene followed the previous day’s heated clash between Ostapenko and Townsend. Ostapenko accused the American of failing to apologize after a net-cord point and escalated the dispute by calling Townsend “rude and uneducated,” even pointing her finger at her face and threatening, “You’ll see what happens after the US Open.”
Earlier, Medvedev was fined $42,500 for “unsportsmanlike conduct and racket smashing.” In the first round, a photographer unexpectedly stepped onto the court, giving Medvedev’s opponent Bonzi an extra first serve opportunity. This incident caused a six-minute delay, and Medvedev angrily confronted umpire Greg Arensworth, inciting the Armstrong Stadium crowd to protest.
Tournament supervisor Jack Garner fined Medvedev $30,000 for “misconduct” and an additional $12,500 for “racket smashing.” At the end of the match, Medvedev repeatedly slammed his racket on a chair at the court side, eventually destroying it.(Source: Tennis Home, Author: Spark)